Book Talk. Rock, Paper, Scissors and Other Stories by Maxim Osipov

Tuesday, September 24, 2019
6:30pm
Harriman Institute Atrium, 12th Floor International Affairs Building (420 W 118th St)

Please join us for a book talk with author Maxim Osipov on his story collection Rock, Paper, Scissors and Other Stories (NYRB, April 2019).

Maxim Osipov, who lives and practices medicine in a town ninety miles outside Moscow, is one of Russia’s best contemporary writers. In the tradition of Anton Chekhov and William Carlos Williams, he draws on his experiences in medicine to write stories of great subtlety and striking insight. Osipov’s fiction presents a nuanced, collage-like portrait of life in provincial Russia—its tragedies, frustrations, and moments of humble beauty and inspiration. The twelve stories in this volume depict doctors, actors, screenwriters, teachers, entrepreneurs, local political bosses, and common criminals whose paths intersect in unpredictable yet entirely natural ways: in sickrooms, classrooms, administrative offices and on trains and in planes. Their encounters lead to disasters, major and minor epiphanies, and—on occasion—the promise of redemption.

Read an article about Osipov in the New Yorker, written by our alum and former Visiting Scholar Joshua Yaffa (SIPA '08).