Columbia University in the City of New York

ECEC Regional Studies Major

The regional studies major is designed to give Columbia College undergraduates the general mastery of a discipline and at the same time permit them to do specialized work in the history and cultures of a particular geographic area through the East Central European Center (ECEC) at the Harriman Institute. It is an interdisciplinary major in which students divide their work between ECEC and an appropriate academic department.

Major Requirements

The major in regional studies requires knowledge of a relevant regional language and a minimum of 36 points approved by the ECEC.

  • 18 points must be credited by ECEC
  • 18 points must be from a department designated as relevant by ECEC (i.e. Anthropology, Economics, History, Political Science, Slavic Languages and Literatures, or Sociology.)
  • 6 points of seminar work approved by the institute are required of all majors and are included in the total of 36 points
  • Two years or demonstrated reading knowledge of one of the following languages: Czech, Hungarian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian, or Ukrainian

Courses taken to satisfy the institute’s language requirement are not counted toward the 18 ECEC points.


Questions about the ECEC Regional Studies major?

For further information, please email or call the East Central European Center at the Harriman Institute.