Columbia University in the City of New York

Harriman Institute's

Latest News
ASEEES Announces Marshall Shulman Book Prize Winners
September 19, 2023

ASEEES has announced the winners of the 2023 Marshall Shulman Book Prize for an outstanding monograph dealing with the international relations, foreign policy, or foreign-policy decision-making of any of the states of the former Soviet Union or Eastern Europe. Two authors will share the 2023 prize.

Co-winner: Togzhan Kassenova (SUNY Albany), Atomic Steppe: How Kazakhstan Gave Up the Bomb (Stanford University Press, 2022)

Co-winner: Alessandro Iandolo (University College London), Arrested Development: The Soviet Union in Ghana, Guinea, and Mali, 1955-1968 (Cornell University Press, 2022) 

Prize winners will be recognized during the ASEEES Annual Convention award ceremony on Saturday, December 2.