Harriman Institute

Events

Date

Location

ICSID-Harriman Workshop: Emerging Topics in Russian and Eurasian Studies

Register Here View the Program

 

Please join the Harriman Institute and the International Center for the Study of Institutions and Development (ICSID) for a workshop co-organized by Professor Timothy Frye, covering a variety of topics in two panels: “Russian Society and Industries in the Covid Era” and “State and Society in Russia and Eurasia.”

For the most up-to-date information and program, visit the event page on the ICSID website.

 

Program

 

Panel I: Russian Society and Industries in the Covid Era

9:00–11:00 am EDT / 4:00–6:00 pm in Moscow

Chair: Michael Rochlitz (Bremen University)

Why Did the COVID-19 Crisis Hit Russia Softer than Expected?

Аnna Fedyunina (HSE)
Yuri Simachev (HSE)
Andrei Yakovlev (HSE)

The Impact of COVID-19 on Tourism Industry and New Opportunities for Regional Development in Russia

Andrei Yakovlev (HSE)
Olga Balaeva (HSE)
Marina Predvoditeleva (HSE)
Nina Yershova (HSE)

Regulation and Distrust During the Covid-19 Pandemic: Evidence from Russia

Ekaterina Borisova (HSE)
Timothy Frye (Columbia University, HSE)
Koen Schoors (Ghent University)
Vladimir Zabolotskiy (University of Bologna, HSE)

The Changing Perceptions of Corruption During the COVID Pandemic in Russia

Polina Detkova (HSE, California Institute of Technology)
Pavel Pronin (HSE)
Andrey Tkachenko (HSE, Bocconi University)
Andrei Yakovlev (HSE)

Discussants: Carl Dahlström (University of Gothenburg), Marina Nistotskaya (University of Gothenburg), Thomas Remington (Harvard University, HSE)

 

Break

11:00–11:15 am EDT / 6:00–6:15 pm in Moscow

 

Panel II: State and Society in Russia and Eurasia

11:15 am–1:15 pm EDT / 6:15–8:15 pm in Moscow

Chair: Ekaterina Borisova (HSE)

Privacy Versus Security in Trying Times: Evidence from Russian Public Opinion

Kirill Chmel (HSE)
Israel Marques II (HSE)
Michael G. Mironyuk (HSE)
Dina Rosenberg (HSE)
Aleksey Turobov (HSE)

The Use and Effectiveness of “Clone” Candidates in Russian and Ukrainian Parliamentary Elections

Ekaterina Paustyan (University of Bremen)
Stas Goreli (George Washington University)

Authoritarian Durability, Prospects of Change and Individual Behavior: Evidence from a Survey Experiment in Russia

Yulia Khalikova (BIGSSS, University of Bremen)
Olga Masyutina (University of Bremen)
Michael Rochlitz (University of Bremen)
Koen Schoors (Ghent University)

Fake News, Paternalism, and Support for Censorship in the Context of COVID-19

Denis Ivanov (HSE)
Alexei Zakharov (HSE)

Discussants: Sarah Sokhey (University of Colorado Boulder), Andrey Semenov (Perm University), Quintin Beazer (Florida State University), Margarita Zavadskaya (University of Helsinki, HSE)

logo